Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists

Muriel Driver Memorial Lectureship Award This lectureship was established as a memorial to Muriel Driver in honour of her many significant contributions to the profession of occupational therapy, from the time of her graduation from the University of Toronto in 1941 until her death in 1972. A brief résumé will give some idea of Muriel’s full and varied career, which began in 1941 when she became a home service therapist at the Toronto Curative workshop.

In 1943 Muriel enlisted in the Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps, serving first as sole therapist at the Hamilton Military Hospital. This was followed by an overseas posting to the 22nd Canadian General Hospital in the United Kingdom as charge occupational therapist. Returning to Canada, she served at the Montreal Military Hospital as assistant to the charge therapist.

Following discharge from the Army in 1946, Muriel organized the first occupational therapy department at Runnymede Hospital for the Chronically Ill in Toronto, and in 1948 she became supervisor of the occupational therapy department at The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto. During her years at this hospital, Muriel attended the Warm Springs Foundation in Georgia and was awarded the post-graduate certificate in neuro-muscular disorders.

In 1954 Muriel returned to Warm Springs as Director of Occupational Therapy and Instructor in the Post-Graduate School. Muriel accepted the challenge of organizing and directing the special Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists (CAOT) course in occupational therapy at Kingston in 1959 and served as Director of the School throughout its existence. When Queen’s University established the occupational therapy educational program in 1967, Muriel was appointed Senior Lecturer, and at the time of her death in 1972 she was Assistant Professor and Senior Teacher in the Occupational Therapy Programme, School of Rehabilitation Therapy, Queens University, Kingston, Ontario.

Muriel gave many years of service to the Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists, as a member of various committees, as chairman of several including the Education Committee, and as an elected member of the Board of Directors. As the Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists delegate to the World Federation of Occupational Therapists, she represented Canada on its Council and during part of her term served as Chairman of the World Federation of Occupational Therapists Publications Committee.

In addition to these contributions, she was the author of numerous articles published in the Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy and in the journals of other health-related professions. Her enthusiasm for the advancement of occupational therapy and the stimulation which she provided were sources of inspiration of students, therapists and personal friends.

The Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists will honour a member of the Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists who has made an outstanding contribution to the profession through research, education and the practice of occupational therapy by presenting  the individual with the Muriel Driver Memorial Lectureship Award.

Nomination and Narrative Forms - Muriel Driver Memorial Lectureship PDF    
Nomination and Narrative Forms - Muriel Driver Memorial Lectureship Word

Read the collection of Muriel Driver Memorial Lectures on the Sage website.

2016 Recipient

Isabelle Gélinas
Dr. Isabelle Gélinas is an Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director in the School of Physical and Occupational Therapy at McGill University.  In her roles as educator, researcher and accomplished clinician,  Isabelle has distinguished herself for her contributions to the advancement of the practice of occupational therapy and the study of function in aging. In particular, her leadership in the area of driving evaluation for seniors with cognitive impairments has placed her on the international stage. Isabelle’s passion for the profession of occupational therapy has inspired students and clinicians for decades. She presents an exceptional ability to integrate scientific evidence into clinical practice and is able to convey the depth and degree of that integration through teaching, graduate supervision and evidence-based organizational change.

Past recipients

2015 - Bonnie Kirsh
2014 - Claire-Jehanne Dubouloz
2013 - Marcia Finlayson
2012 - Juliette (Archie) Cooper
2011 - Lori Letts
2010 - Annette Majnemer
2009 Ā- Nicol Korner-Bitensky
2008 - Terry Krupa
2007 - Mary Egan
2006 - Jan Miller Polgar
2005 - Johanne Desrosiers
2004 - Catherine Backman
2003 - Judith Friedland
2002 - Rachel Thibeault
2001 - Virginia Fearing
2000 - Mary Ann McColl
1999 - Muriel Westmorland
1997 - Marie Gage
1994 - Huguette Picard
1993 - Elizabeth Townsend 
1992 - Helene Polatajko
1991 - Mary Law
1990 - Anne Carswell-Opzoomer
1989 - Margaret Tompson
1988 - Sue Baptiste
1987 - Joanne Stan
1986 - Thelma Gill Sumsion
1985 - Sharon Brintnell
1984 - Barbara Saunders
1983 - Andrée Forget
1982 - Mary Judd
1981 - Isobel Robinson
1980 - Elizabeth B. Bell
1979 - Gail Gilewich
1977 - Barbara J. O’Shea.
1976 - Margaret Hood 
1975 - Joy (Huston) Bassett

Muriel Driver Lectures:

A wide selection of products, great offers and more. THE CAOT STORE