Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists

 
 Momentum (Online Mentoring Module)

“Mentorship should be considered a process, a process for growth for both the mentee and mentor based on a more experienced individual proving guidance, knowledge and support to a colleague with less experience” (Beshay & Baptiste, 2013)

 

REGISTRATION IS NOW CLOSED

CAOT`s Momentum consists of four webinars that allow individuals/mentees to explore the concepts of mentorship, coaching, networking and partnering. The webinars provide an opportunity for a mentee to be matched with a mentor based on similar values, interests and professional paths.

Mentees are:

  • Recent graduates of occupational therapy programs
  • Internationally educated occupational therapists
  • Occupational therapists re-entering the workforce
  • Occupational therapists transitioning into new roles

Mentors are:

  • Seasoned occupational therapists that can share professional experience and help younger or less experienced occupational therapists with a career development path

The mentorship pair uses a reflective process with a workbook to foster dialogue and encourage mutual evaluation of the expectations and efficacy of the relationship. During a select period of time, mentees and mentors are paired to address the reflective goals established by the mentee and guided by the mentor. Momentum’s goal is to assist an occupational therapist to foster professional growth through guided reflective processes for both the mentor and the mentee.

The Momentum experience is intended to open a new chapter in your professional and, often, personal life. The mentees and mentors will:

  • work towards developing some objectives around personal professional growth,
  • work together over a 3 month period to explore and potentially achieve those objectives, and,
  • gain an understanding of principles underlying mentor/mentee relationships.

Speaking about Momentum, a mentor said: “It is excellent for the growth and development of individuals and thus the profession.” Momentum can help to provide the relationships and opportunities to take the next steps in your career.

Session

Date

 Attendance

Details

Session 1

Thursday, February 4, 2016

7:30-10pm ET

  Mentees Only

Mentees develop their reflective goals and prepare for the mentorship experience through a facilitated coaching session

Session 2

Thursday, February 11, 2016

7:30-10pm ET

Mentees in one
group

Discussion of reflective goals and coaching on mentoring partnerships

Mentors in one
group

Coaching on mentoring partnerships and discussion on expectations

Session 3

Thursday, February 18, 2016

7:30-10pm ET

Mentees &
Mentors

Introduction of areas of strength and growth sought for mentors and mentees

By end of February 2016: Matching process
Between Session 3 and 4: At least 3 meetings between mentee and mentor

Session 4

Thursday,
June 2, 2016

7:30-10pm ET

Mentees &
Mentors together

Program wrap-up and discussion of lessons learned

Session 4

 Thursday,
June 9, 2016

7:30-10pm ET

 Mentors only Mentor debriefing session

 

The webinars start at 7:30 p.m. (Eastern Time). Please note the time difference if you are not participating in Eastern Time: 4:30 p.m. Pacific / 5:30 p.m. Mountain / 6:30 p.m. Central / 7:30 p.m. Eastern / 8:30 p.m. Atlantic / 9:00 p.m. Newfoundland and Labrador.

Momentum builds on the successes of the Occupational Therapy Examination and Practice Preparation (OTepp) project's mentorship module and CAOT’s offerings in 2013 and 2014.

*If you would like to inquire on accessibility options available to you, please contact education@caot.ca or 1-800-434-2268 ext. 231.

** Limited registrations available: Maximum 15 mentees


Eligibility criteria
CAOT Members and Provisional Associates who have completed a degree in occupational therapy are eligible to participate. Momentum is offered to CAOT Members only. Click here to find out more about membership opportunities.

Registration for Mentors    

If you are a CAOT Member and you are interested in participating as a mentor, please complete this brief survey and we will contact you should you be selected as a mentor for the 2016 offering. Mentors will be selected in a variety of practice settings and to correspond to the areas of growth that the mentees have indicated. Please note that not all mentors selected for the program may be paired with a mentee during this offering as a greater number of mentors than mentees are selected for the program.

Technology Requirements for Mentees and Mentors For the Momentum webinars, mentees and mentors will connect via web conference and teleconference line. Access to a computer with stable Internet connection and Adobe Flash Player version 13.0 or higher will be required for the web conference to be able to view the PowerPoint slides. Access to a telephone will be required to connect to the teleconference line. If you are participating from outside of Canada or the U.S.A., please contact education@caot.ca for more information.

Cancellation and Refund Policy:

All refund requests must be sent in writing to the CAOT National Office. Requests received prior to the registration deadline will be given a 50% refund. CAOT will not provide a refund after the registration deadline. CAOT reserves the right to cancel or modify the offering.

For additional information, contact us at education@caot.ca or 1-800-434-2268 ext. 231.

Momentum is offered to CAOT members only. Click here to find out more about membership opportunities.


 

A wide selection of products, great offers and more. THE CAOT STORE