CAOT-BC Outstanding Occupational Therapist of the Year Award

The Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists – British Columbia will recognize members living in British Columbia who have made an outstanding contribution to the profession throughout his or her career. Only one (1) award will be granted each year. Nominations for this Award will be considered annually but the Award will be made only when recognition is merited in accordance with stated criteria. Nominators whose nomination is unsuccessful in a particular year may allow the nomination to stand for a maximum of three successive years.

Criteria for Selection

Nominations must meet the following criteria:

  1. Nominees shall be individual or life members of the Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists currently living in British Columbia.
  2. Nominees shall have worked as an occupational therapist for a minimum of five years.
  3. Nominees shall be making, or have made contributions that influence the profession, directly or indirectly, in at least one of the following areas:
    • Demonstrating dedication to education and guiding, supporting and encouraging the development of occupational therapy students;
    • Demonstrating expertise or innovation in one or more practice areas in roles in academic or practice education, consultation, administration or research;
    • Developing an innovative occupational therapy practice or working extensively with community/client groups;
    • Making a sustained commitment to the profession by acting as a leader and a role model.

Download the CAOT-BC Outstanding Occupational Therapist of the Year Award Nomination Form.

Visit the CAOT-BC General Information page.


2017 Recipient

Susan Forwell

Susan is recognized for her dedication to occupational science and the occupational therapy profession in British Columbia. Throughout her 25-year career at the University of British Columbia (UBC), she has infused her teaching with her occupational perspective, bringing a strong and grounded occupational science confidence to the curriculum.  She has served as a mentor to many UBC students as well as other occupational therapists nationally and internationally. Susan is also a researcher, and has made important contributions to the evidence that supports occupational therapy and practice while advancing the position of rehabilitation in Canadian health and social sectors.

Past Recipients

Patti Erlendson


Dianna Mah-Jones 

Susan Bonney

Sarabjeet Charchun 

Copyright 2016 Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists
powered by in1touch
100-34 Colonnade Road
Ottawa, ON K2E 7J6 Canada